It’s now a new day By James Mendez

She went away today

I figured through all of these years that it one day may happen

But like a marathon I saw it coming

Slowly down the stretch picking up speed

I wasn’t ready not just yet

And then it happened

Over now and done

And I’m still not ready

I stood by her side

Picked fights, gave hugs, gave a listening ear

Now I simply have one wish

That the man looking out for my only sister

Loves her with all his heart

That he figures out that special way to bring out that smile

So to my little sister now grown up

Remember I will always be your brother

And you my little sister

However far you go

There will always be me here to pick on you if you ever should need it

So get out there and start your life

Don’t let bad times drag you down

And don’t forget to smile

Leave a comment